Continuum

Bisexual is a term I hear
while i’m unsure of the direction
the song is going to take
but then, I’m reassured by the chorus
that i’m straight
I’m okay now

Terry, this woman that I work with, she’s a dyke
button down shirt and tie, slacks, polished black shoes dyke
now i don’t have a problem with the gays
it’s just that Terry’s girlfriend looks just like me
pumps, pencil skirts, manicured nails, lipstick, pearl necklace
I wasn’t expecting this, it’s like a song with a familiar beginning
you know, something you can bob your head to, you know
and then all of a sudden it changes, and i’m unsure of the direction
the song is going to take…  So I hold on for the chorus, for some kind of refrain:
i’m straight, i’m okay now.

she’s a dyke
button down
shirt and tie
slacks, polished
black shoes, dyke

a song with a familiar beginning
you know, something you can
bob your head to, you know

her woman looks
just like me
i wasn’t expecting
pumps
pencil skirt
manicured nails
lipstick, pearl necklace

I wasn’t expecting this bridge
this change in melody
irregular, I pause for the chorus
for some kind of refrain…

I am straight
I am, okay now

Bisexual is a term I listen to

4 thoughts on “Continuum

  1. You can just feel the narrator’s mind trying to deal with it, caught and trying to find a resolution. It is such a great idea and so brilliantly done, Cocoyea.

    Like

  2. sexuality is free jazz: frenzied solos that only become familiar the 25th time you hear them, but always the return to a universal chorus that is ((love)) in all its many facets.

    Well said Jason. Thanks :-).

    Like

Leave a Reply

